Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Bore Butter question? >

Bore Butter question?

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Bore Butter question?

Old 12-21-2007, 10:39 AM
Fork Horn

Default Bore Butter question?

I am fairly new at muzzleloading so hang in there while I ask some easy questions. After cleaning your muzzleloader, do you leave your barrel squeaky clean or do you run a patch of bore butter down it? And before shooting are you supposed to clean the bore butter from your barrel or not? Thanks
Old 12-21-2007, 10:49 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Bore Butter question?

Bore Butter[:'(]

Seriously though, some people love it andthat's great if they do. I have no use for it. I use Rem Oil. BirchwoodCasey has good products as well. When you are ready to shoot it next, you will want to run a wet patch or two down the bore followed by a couple dry patches to get the excess oil out, then pop a couple caps/primers.

cayugad I'm sure will catch this and give you his detailed procedures but my advice would be to leave the BB alone.
Old 12-21-2007, 11:09 AM
Dominant Buck

TNHagies and I agree on this. Bore butter is a great product. It is an excellent conical lube, even a patch lube for shooting patch ball. As something to protect my bore.. no thanks. Now there are many people that use it to protect their rifles. And all I can say is.. their rifles. Birchwood Casey Sheath a.k.a. Barricade is my favorite gun oil.