Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 I am confused about the hotwater cleaning >

I am confused about the hotwater cleaning

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

I am confused about the hotwater cleaning

Old 12-06-2007, 07:35 AM
Spike

Default I am confused about the hotwater cleaning

So why don't i use the "modern leaning solutions" .

Is this a once a year thing with the water. I use presaturated cleaning patches then some bore cleaner wipe it clean the lube.

Why the hot water???
Old 12-06-2007, 07:52 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: I am confused about the hotwater cleaning

I'm no expert by far but I'll clean mine with hot water when I'm done shooting it for a while. If I go to the range and shoot when I come home I'll clean it with hot water. My Muzzleloader hunting season will be done this weekend and I'll clean it with hot water on Sunday night when I get home form the evening hunt! The hot water gets in those tight spots in the barrel. One thing I did learn is to have all your cleaning patches ready to go before you start the hot water cleaning, the surface rust sets in quickly!
Old 12-06-2007, 09:10 AM
Giant Nontypical

water is what they call the universal solvent. Hot water opens the pours of the metal and properly used will clean them out; the residue in the pours is quite capable of being the starting point for rust. It is eay to rust up a barrel that properly taken care of much less one that is not. Lee
Old 12-06-2007, 10:43 AM
Dominant Buck

Lee is right one the money there. The other reason I use a water bath is.. cost!!! Very hot water and some dish soap. I steal it right out of the kitchen. And they used to claim I did not know where the dish soap was kept..