Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 First Buck...Monkey for sale >

First Buck...Monkey for sale

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

First Buck...Monkey for sale

Old 11-21-2007, 08:59 AM
Fork Horn

Default First Buck...Monkey for sale

I was finally able to connect on my first buck this weekend. I am a little disappointed that it was with my muzzleloader and not my bow but I do feel a huge weight lifted off my back. I have been hunting seriously for the past 5 years and have only managed to take a couple of small does. This year for some reason all of that has changed. I was able to take three does with my bow and had an opportunity at a nice 10 pointer that would have scored in the 130’s but I think “buck fever” set in and I was unable to close the deal. Gun season opened in Indiana this weekend so I put the bow down for the weekend and tried my luck with the smoke pole. On Sunday two buddies and I went out for an all day hunt. The activity was pretty slow only seeing one deer from first light until noon. It was a nice 8 pointer but I did not feel comfortable with the shot so I passed. We got down for some lunch and when we came back the loggers decided to show up and do a little work that afternoon in the area I was hunting. I decided to go farther back into the woods when all of a sudden I saw one of them come walking back through the woods carrying a shotgun. He saw me and said that he had to take one more tree and would then would be gone. I asked him if he planned on cutting down that tree with his gun? Go figure he was going to shoot anything that was brown. I got fed up and went back to the truck and loaded my stuff up. Since I had a few hours of light left I walked over to another ridge line and just sat down on a tree stump and waited for my buddies to either connect or last light not really expecting to see much and fuming over the loggers ruining my hun