Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

new experience

Old 06-17-2007, 11:21 AM

Default new experience

Well, the oldrookie had a new experience today. After shooting about 20 loads, I was ready to call it a morning. I had shot all my xtps but I had 2 powerbelts left. Figured what the heck, I'll shoot them and call it quits.

Loaded the 1st one,zeroed in and pop....the primer went off but that was it. Made sure the bullet was still seated, put in new primer and pop, same thing. I decided to remove the breech plug cleaned it up, reinstalled. Made sure bullet was seated. I then installed a new primer....pop! After deciding this wasn't good (remember I am a rookie), I decided to remove the breech plug, dump the powder and shove the bullet out the end.

First, after removing the plug, all the powder was spent. When I went to shove the bullet out, it felt kind of light. The only thing to be shoved out was the plastic belt....there was no bullet. When those primers went off it felt and sounded like miss fires. No compression, boom nothing.

What just happened here?
Old 06-17-2007, 11:30 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: new experience

oldrookie

WOW! I could only guess at what might have happened, but what an odd experiance.... The first time you reset you bullet did you feel the metal of the RR contact the metal of the bullet?

Of course if for some reason the bullet was forced out of the skirt it would just fall out, but if the powder was spent you should have still heard a little "boom" at least. I shoot patches out every once in awhile, to foul or dry a barrel.and even that makes a "boom"...

ODD!
Old 06-17-2007, 12:49 PM
Typical Buck