Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Hoppes no 9 solvent >

Hoppes no 9 solvent

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Hoppes no 9 solvent

Old 04-20-2007, 01:46 PM
Typical Buck

Default Hoppes no 9 solvent

I am new to blackpowder shooting/hunting and I didnt know which one to get to clean and lube. I have a traditions yukon and I bought this hoppes stuff. It says it is just dandy, but does anyone know about it? My pal uses wonderlube for his 1:66 ML and he loves it. SHould I use this? EJ
Old 04-20-2007, 01:50 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Hoppes no 9 solvent

Don't use a petroleum product with blackpowder. It will create way too much fouling . I use warm water mostly.
Old 04-20-2007, 02:45 PM
Dominant Buck

I use petrolum based products all the time to clean my rifles, without problems. The trick is to make sure you get the stuff out of the barrel before you load the first time. This is done with a simple patch dipped in Isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol that you buy at any Wal Mart. Swab the barrel with it, a couple dry patches and you're good to go.

As for the Hoppies.. go ahead and use it to clean your rifle. There are better cleaners out there IMO but it will work just fine. As for the Wonder lube, that is a whole different set of considerations. Personally I do not use Wonder Lube, Bore Butter T/C 1000 what ever you want to call it... other then to lube a conical now and then.

Another simple cleaner for your rifle is a 50/50 mix of Windshield Washer Fluid and isopropyl alcohol. You can swab the barrel with the stuff between shots, you can use it to remove fowling when you clean. And it will help dry the barrel between shots. Swab the barrel with short strokes between shots, then a couple dry patches and you can load again and get some great accuracy.