Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 How long can you keep a ML loaded without firing? >

How long can you keep a ML loaded without firing?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

How long can you keep a ML loaded without firing?

Old 01-19-2007, 02:49 PM

Default How long can you keep a ML loaded without firing?

I am fairly new to muzzeloading, but I enjoy the hell out of shooting mine. I was wondering if it was ok for the bore, the leave the pellets and sabot in gun for an extended length of time? What do you used to discharge or remove the sabot and pellets? I bought a sabot puller, but it looks to me like it ruins the bullet, since you are boring it out? Thanks for the help.
Old 01-19-2007, 04:43 PM

Default RE: How long can you keep a ML loaded without firing?

I have left mine loaded for a week and it still fired fine. If the gun isn't getting any moisture in it, you should be fine leaving it for at least a week.

The bullet puller will certainly ruin the bullet. Just take your primer out and don't unload it. That's whatI do.
Old 01-19-2007, 05:14 PM
Fork Horn

I have left mine loaded for two weeks without shooting.

If its cold outside when I am done hunting then I dont bring the gun inside - I just leave it in the garage. That way condensation dosent form to get moisture in the powder. Its like if you wear glasses and they are frozen or very cold then walk inside, you just want to avoid that with your gun.

You guys are having more cold weather in Texas than we are in Iowa this year - this mabye is a good tip for you.
Old 01-19-2007, 05:32 PM
Fork Horn