Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

barrel floating

Old 01-11-2007, 07:51 PM

Default barrel floating

I posed a question on another thread and it got lost. I am new to muzzleloading and find all of your posts both informative and entertaining. Could someone explain to me what barrel floating is and is it necessary with all muzzleloaders. I have a CVA Optima.
Old 01-11-2007, 07:56 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: barrel floating

Barrel floating is the idea of fitting the barrel into the stock so there are no pressure points exerted on the barrel itself. Some rifles come floated like Thompson Center's Black Diamond XR. Is it necessary? Many rifles shoot excellent without a free floating barrel. Another option is to bed the stock to distribute all the points of the barrel into the stock. Unless my rifle was having some serious accuracy problems I would not get too concerned about it.
Old 01-11-2007, 08:03 PM

Thanks for your reply. May I ask you another question? On another site there is detailed instructions on lapping a barrel. The primary component is teflon which I assumes seals the pores inside the barrel. The writer of the article recommends this once a year. Do you or anyone else on this forum do this?
Old 01-11-2007, 08:10 PM
Dominant Buck

ORIGINAL: oldrookie

Thanks for your reply. May I ask you another question? On another site there is detailed instructions on lapping a barrel. The primary component is teflon which I assumes seals the pores inside the barrel. The writer of the article recommends this once a year. Do you or anyone else on this forum do this?