Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

cva guys i have ?

Old 10-13-2006, 04:16 PM
Fork Horn

Default cva guys i have ?

i have a cva wolf 50caland i have it sighted in @ 80yrds and want it up to 150 or 200 i was wandering if any one else has been able to do this shooting a 100 grain load if so what grain bullet did you use im new to black powder and dont know if my gun is capeabl of doing this so any help would be great thank you for your time
Old 10-13-2006, 04:27 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: cva guys i have ?

While not owning a Wolf.. I am sure the 100 grain charge you're shooting is able to shoot out to those distances with the right projectile. I also see no reason why your rifle would not shoot that kind of a distance with some degree of accuracy. Of course all rifles have their own characterstics and quirks.

At the extreme ranges you're talking I would try some Shockwaves or maybe some Barnes. They should be able to retain enough down range thump to get the job done. Another thing it will take is a lot of practice. Whether you personally will be able to shoot those kind of distances would have to be tested on a range.
Old 10-13-2006, 09:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: bowhunter1984

i have a cva wolf 50caland i have it sighted in @ 80yrds and want it up to 150 or 200 i was wandering if any one else has been able to do this shooting a 100 grain load if so what grain bullet did you use im new to black powder and dont know if my gun is capeabl of doing this so any help would be great thank you for your time
I'm presuming you are using pellets - so Pyrodex would be my choice in 120 grains(4-30gr pellets)or 130 grains (2-50 gr. plus 1-30 gr).

Afterwards, please start a thread here on your results. Do a range review on that ML also. We have no info here on the CVA Wolf.

[size=2]
Thompson Center Arms -- Triple Se7en Powder -- Buffalo Bullet Co.

Old 10-14-2006, 01:24 AM