Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

BARREL WEAR

Old 01-30-2006, 04:47 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default BARREL WEAR

i was reading and found articile about if you use 3f and not 2f ,your barrel will wear out faster. i believe the articile said 3,000 shots with 3f and 10,000 with 2f.hmmmmmmmmmmm
Old 01-30-2006, 05:06 PM

Default RE: BARREL WEAR

I'm not sure if I would agree with that forum.
To me barrel wear would indicate loss of rifeling.
And as deep as that is, in most muzzleloaders, I
just don't think the grade of powder that one
used would cause that process to speed up or
to slow down. I'm not a structual engineer but
I just don't think I could agree with that view.
Just my opnion.
Old 01-30-2006, 05:11 PM
Boone & Crockett

sproulman

Interesting? I never even considered this but would it be any different than standard loads in a center fire and magnum charges in a center fire? Shooting mag charges of smokeless certainly accelerates throat erosion. Would not the hotter temps of 3f cause maybe the same thing? I would really hope the number difference is not that high. 3 to 10 is not a good ratio. Another factor that mightadd to this problem would be the tightness of the projectile in the seated position and the force need to drive the projectile out the barrel. The tighter all is the greater pressure and temperatures that are built up in the barrel.

Just my iniatial thoughts when I read you post...

Old 01-30-2006, 05:30 PM
Fork Horn

The increased wear is reported to occur mainlyat the breech end of the barrel and is supposed to be caused by gas gutting from the increased pressure that Fffg generates. This has been kicked around by others before and there is some basis to it, in theory. However, whether it actually doeshappen seems to be more conjecture than fact. I have yet to see, or hear, of anyone that can actually show a barrel in which it did occur.
Old 01-30-2006, 05:51 PM