Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 First Attempt with Pellets. >

First Attempt with Pellets.

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

First Attempt with Pellets.

Old 01-14-2006, 03:13 PM
Dominant Buck

Default First Attempt with Pellets.

Today I took a shovel and moved a snow bank. I got an old card table and my portable bench and actually got back to the 50 yard line and could still see the target. My intention was to try some of the Pyrodex 50 grain pellets I purchased. I decided to use the Black Diamond XR for a rifle, Remington Kleenbore Primers, and I started shooting 200 grain Shockwaves. I did swab between shots. I used 100 grains worth.

The ignition time with the pellets and the Kleenbore Primers was excellent. Also the Kleenbore primers lack of fowling the breech was real good. Since this was Pyrodex I did not suspect a hard fowling in the barrel and was not disappointed.

The grouping with the 200 grain Shockwaves was very good. Also the recoil from the pellets was very controllable. They hit a little higher then I expected but thats just a matter of scope adjustment. I fired an eight shot group with them.

I then got out some 375 grain Buffalo Bullet SSB's and shot them with the same 100 grains worth of pellets. I shot a five shot group with them. The recoil was a little more apparent I am guessing from the added weight of the projectile, but again, I was more then pleased with the group.

I guess I can see what the appeal is with pellets. I want to test the same projectiles next time using loose powder and see if they shoot better or worse..
Old 01-14-2006, 04:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: First Attempt with Pellets.

Not bad there Cayugad, with a little work you might have a tight group . No really, it looks great. I have a load or two that works with the pellets also, but it sure gets expensive when you shoot a lot.

Have a great day.