Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
muzzeloading in rain...need some advice, please? >

muzzeloading in rain...need some advice, please?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

muzzeloading in rain...need some advice, please?

Old 10-16-2002, 04:58 PM
Fork Horn

Default muzzeloading in rain...need some advice, please?

I've been muzzeloading for 5 years now and in that time I've only had to hunt in the rain once, but rain is predicted for opening day this season. The year it rained on me, when I got back to camp I decided to see if my gun would fire, but when I pulled the trigger I got nothing. When I checked the cap it was smashed and the powder inside was no longer powder, but wet and mushy instead. I replaced the cap and tried again and the gun fired, so I know my powder was dry..the problem was the cap. I have a Remington 700 ML, which has a bolt and weather shield. On top of that I took extreme precautions to keep water out all day...I think the problem was humidity. Here is my question: Does anybody have any new tricks that have worked for you to keep your caps dry? I dont want to leave it off and be forced to try to put one on when I have a deer approaching...besides that, without a cap I think my powder could get wet throught the nipple. Help?
Old 10-16-2002, 06:46 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: muzzeloading in rain...need some advice, please?