Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 what accesories do you need with a flintlock? >

what accesories do you need with a flintlock?

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

what accesories do you need with a flintlock?

Old 12-25-2005, 09:43 PM
Fork Horn

Default what accesories do you need with a flintlock?

I want to get a new traditions kentucky rifle flintlock and im new to muzzleloading so i was wondering what i will need to get with the rifle so i will be able to shoot it.
Old 12-25-2005, 10:23 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: what accesories do you need with a flintlock?

Many of the Kentucky model do not have a hooked breech and are not removable. So you will need a flush tube to clean the rifle properly. I also like to replace the vent liners right away with a stainless steel model with the hex head. And a vent pick which I put through the vent liner when first dumping the powder and setting the ball. After that I remove it and primer the pan. You will also need a pan primer flask. This small flask will put just the right amount of powder in the pan for you. As for knapping the flint, many people waste their money and get a knapping hammer. I did. I have yet to use it, but I got one. The pan brush is kind of helpful for sweeping out the base of the pan. Also some patches and alcohol to wipe the pan, frizzen, and flint off. A frizzen cover is nice too. I have yet to buy a cow knee, but I made one out of an old chunk of tarp and it seems to work good. Also you might as well get some flints or agates. You will go through a lot of them in the begining. I bought 100 of them when I started out because I got a better deal on them. I get them through October Country Muzzleloading..http://www.octobercountry.com/ I am sure I forgot a lot of the stuff.
Old 12-25-2005, 10:36 PM
Giant Nontypical

ill start....sure ill miss a few things...