Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 What do you use when you swab? >

What do you use when you swab?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

What do you use when you swab?

Old 11-28-2005, 07:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default What do you use when you swab?

What do you all use when you swab at the range? Solvent, vinegar, alcohaul, Water, ect. I am new to this and have not shot my rifle yet. Wich ones will work and wich ones dont. Also, wich ones work best or will they all work just fine?
Old 11-28-2005, 07:30 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: What do you use when you swab?

When I shoot my Traditional rifle all I swab with is isopropyl or denatured alcohol. In my inline rifles I use a mixture of alcohol and car windshield washer fluid....
Old 11-28-2005, 08:26 PM

how to you mix it, does it matter?? or can I fill a small spray bottle with half and half??
Old 11-28-2005, 10:05 PM
Typical Buck

I started using Cayugad's mix last year.Works great with both 777 and BM3.

Charlie
Old 11-29-2005, 12:51 AM

I use Thompson Center's #13 bore cleaner then dry patch or just a Tradition's pretreated patch with wonder lube 1000 plus. The #13 is great for everything for cleanup. It looks like milk.
Old 11-29-2005, 06:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

I think I will try alcohal. Sounds good to me.

Thanks alot

Old 11-29-2005, 07:29 AM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: pse-archer

What do you all use when you swab at the range? Solvent, vinegar, alcohaul, Water, ect. I am new to this and have not shot my rifle yet. Wich ones will work and wich ones dont. Also, wich ones work best or will they all work just fine?
I use 2.5" square GI cleaning patches, and just put them in my mouh and chew on them until they are good and wet. Nothing else. This works fine!
Old 11-29-2005, 08:27 AM
Dominant Buck