Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 How often do you swab? >

How often do you swab?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

How often do you swab?

Old 11-22-2005, 03:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default How often do you swab?

How often do I need to swab the barrel between shots? I live in Colorado at about 5,000' elevation. I plan to use Pyrodex. I shoot a traditional percussion cap 54cal. What do you do when you swab your barrel? What do you use? I am very new to the sport and have yet to shoot it.
Old 11-22-2005, 04:13 PM

Default RE: How often do you swab?

I swab my barrel between shots with a damp water patch out of a spray bottle,flip it again and then followed with a dry patch.I use no solvents at all.
I also before loading the main charge snap 3 caps followed with a few dry patches to clean the barrel.
I would recommend never run a dry patch after a shooting a round out of a barrel, a dry patch will pick up the crud and the patch and jag will not come out that easy,I also drill and tap the other end of the ramrod incase a little effort is needed to add a t handle for more pulling power
Old 11-22-2005, 05:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

if you get a super jag the patch will come out dry or wet. i will put a patch in my mouth a second or 2 and then swab every 2 or 3 shots. i have gone 10 shots or more with out cleaning. it all depends.
Old 11-22-2005, 05:42 PM
Dominant Buck

Since your shooting a Traditional Rifle you will find the need to swab the bore much less then if you were shooting a fast twist and loading sabots. patch and ball are much more forgiving then plastic and lead.