Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 I want to get a BP rifle... >

I want to get a BP rifle...

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

I want to get a BP rifle...

Old 05-12-2005, 05:33 PM

Default I want to get a BP rifle...

I would like to purchase a Black Powder rifle. I have no experience with BP and would like some sugestions on whats a good gun and just some tips for shooting, cleaning, ect. I would like to spend less than 300 dollars. I would be looking for a modern type of rifle.

Thanks,
Levi
Old 05-12-2005, 06:11 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: I want to get a BP rifle...

First off is the $300.00 supposed to include the gear to go with the rifle to shoot it? What are your state regulations for scopes, sabots, ignition systems? Do you have a preference as to the style of action the rifle has? Are any manufacturer's models more appealing to you?

Normally I suggest you look over some of the on line stores and view their rifles. Any that catch your fancy then go to the gun makers web site and look them over. Then read some of the posts on the forum reference the rifle that catches your fancy. There are a lot of different rifles out there for sale.

Some of the more reasonable rifle makers out there are CVA, Traditions, MDM, Beartooth, NEF, and even some of the more known makers have rifles on special from time to time. Also be sure and check the gun auction sites. There are many new in the box rifles there and can be purchased reasonable...

If you find one you like we would be more then glad to give an opinion of the rifle or tell you what we can about them. You might also want to look into Knight and Thompson Center Arms rifles. Excellent quality....

Good luck.
Old 05-12-2005, 06:30 PM

Are the knight DISC any good? I live in Illinois as far as regs go.
Old 05-12-2005, 06:37 PM
Dominant Buck