Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Caribou Hunting from Tent

Old 03-08-2005, 05:39 PM

Default Caribou Hunting from Tent

Hey

I'm planning on buying one of those outfitter type tents from cabelas......the ones that support a stove and have lots of room to move around in. The reason is to hunt caribou in late fall fall in Quebec. Im a Quebec resident which allows me to hunt caribou fairly cheap not including an outfitter. So i plan to spend lots on this set up 1 time so that i can do it every year.

What are your thoughts on this? Does anyone know how warm these tents can get with a stove running all the time? I would imagine its not a 5 star but i dont want that......i want the rugged life style hunting hardcore!!

Thanks
Old 03-08-2005, 09:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Caribou Hunting from Tent

If you are planning on hunting caribou in Quebec you are either flying in to the resident only zone @September or the winter Hunt in 22 ( I have done both, I used to live in Quebec). Its pretty darn cold up there and I have never seen anybody tenting it. I have seen a couple of plywood type tent camps and some RV but never a tent. I have hunted moose for years out of a prospector tent and in October they are great, but its real cold up where the caribou are.
Old 03-09-2005, 04:59 AM

I have hunted out of that tent before in wyoming. Seemed to hold the heat as long as the stove was going good. For an extnded hunt it sure is nice to have all that room. We had 4 guys in it quite comfortable.
Old 03-09-2005, 05:57 AM

If you match the size of the stove to the size of the tent, it can get quite comfortable. You won't want to take off your long johns though.
Old 03-09-2005, 07:45 PM
Typical Buck