HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   New hunter question (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/82272-new-hunter-question.html)

WV_Coalminer 12-11-2004 02:18 PM

New hunter question

This is my first year hunting. Deer season didn't go real well but a friend of mine wants to take me bear hunting. I'll be using a Winchester 12ga. pump with Remington Sluggers. My question is, what is the best shot placement ? Is it the same as a deer ? Also, you're not aloud to use bait in WV, how would you suggest I hunt them ? Can you use a ground blind like you would with deer ? I dont have a tree stand. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Steve

NVMIKE 12-11-2004 09:52 PM

RE: New hunter question

I'm not a bear hunter, but just wanted to say hi to a fellow miner. I'm a nevada gold miner.welcome to the boards:D

WV_Coalminer 12-12-2004 11:08 AM

Thank you Mike, nice to meet you. Where in Nevada ? I used to live in Vegas. Is there alot of gold in them thar hills ? :)

Steve

DelcoJim 12-13-2004 09:12 PM

Guide I konw in NY likes to shoot them in the shoulder so they go down fast and can't run away , i think its because he has seen people lose them because the blood trail peters out pretty fast from the fat clogging the wound.
That said i shot 1 with a 30-06 ,220 grain bullet just behind the front shoulder , hewent nowwhere, i would probably not take a shot dead on at the sternum , but .... might get too excited to not shoot too. ..
Hel likes 12 guage slugs for bear also , but myself i liked the 30-06

handloader1 12-13-2004 10:59 PM

There is a book named "The Perfect Shot America (Shot Placement for North American Big Game)" by Craig Boddington. It is a very good book. Good luck.

huntress206 12-14-2004 08:22 AM

Handloader cites a very good reference book. Boddington knows his stuff well.