Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Bullet Selection

Old 06-16-2004, 09:06 AM

Default Bullet Selection

I'm new to the whole medium/large game hunting. I recently purchased a Tikka T3 Lite in .30-06 (mounted with a Leupold VX II scope) and need your opinions on which premium bullet you would choose for basically everything in North America. I've been asked to go Moose and White Tail this year. Any advise to offer? I've read up on Federal's Premium line of bullets and it looks, on paper, that the Sierra GameKing and Nosler Partition may be the route to go with as a universal North American game round. Anybody a Winchester fan? I would appreciate any suggestions. Please let me know what your suggestions/opinions would be for my situation. Eventually I'll be getting more rifles suited for specific hunts but I'm sure all you seasoned hunting vets know that'll take a little time to build the collection. For now, I went with a round that's versitle enough for everything in North America.

Thanks for the help all!
Old 06-16-2004, 09:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Bullet Selection

You can't go wrong with a Nosler Partition. Also Trophy Bonded Bearclaws are good.
Old 06-16-2004, 10:05 AM
Fork Horn

I would also go with the Partition. If you're talking about critters bigger than deer (like moose), I would probably steer clear of the Sierras.
Old 06-16-2004, 11:52 AM
Typical Buck

The game kings are ok on deer but I'm not a big fan of them on larger game like moose or elk. I'd stick with a partition, accubond, trophy bonded bear claw, barnes x or something along those lines. Remember the weight of the bullet is also important. The optimum thing would be to have different weights for each type of game. For deer I like a little lighter weight because it shoots a little flatter and the bullet expands a little quicker. On bigger game you would of course want a heavier bullet.