HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Big Game Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting-6/)
-   -   Colorado beware of wolves (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/big-game-hunting/59124-colorado-beware-wolves.html)

ironranger 04-19-2004 11:23 AM

RE: Colorado beware of wolves

I'm not an expert on this subject by any means but let me tell you what I know from experience in Minnesota here where we've had wolves for many years. First, the department of natural resources has always understated how many wolves we have and my brother has caught them in the act. He asked them one time how many packs there were on a huge lake outside of town. They said just one pack and then he saw them fly over while out ice fishing one day. They circle the packs to study them. He took a cruise on the snowmobile and observed them circling 5 different areas that day. Further complicating the issue is that the US Fish & Wildlife are involved and these animals are considered Federal property. We've been talking about delisting them in Minnesota for a few years now and not much has been done. The Anti's will keep it tied up in the courts if it ever comes to where we might get close to controlling their numbers thru hunting, etc. too. Even if Colorado never introduces them they will get there thru migration sooner or later. I would say...Let's not kid ourselves. Once they are present, the Anti's will make it very tough to be able to control their numbers thru the courts. We are seeing it in Minnesota...

rather_be_huntin 04-19-2004 11:52 AM

Someone help me understand the real issue here.

Are wolves the real issue? What I mean is, is a wolf any different than a bear or a cougar? I have never read or seen anything to suggest they kill anymore than they need to consume. That means they don't kill for fun, they are just predators that kill prey to feed.