Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
A question for hunters in North America >

A question for hunters in North America

Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.
 Nosler

A question for hunters in North America

Old 09-08-2017, 12:27 AM
Spike

Default A question for hunters in North America

Ok so this is my first time posting here so don't hound me for being stupid or whatever. So i live in europe and am not old enough yet to become a hunter but am planning on doing it when i can. I am particularly interested in moose hunting and obviously have watched vids and looked around the internet about moose hunting and as most people already know european moose antlers are not very impressive incomparison to North American moose and so i wanted to ask do most moose in NA have big pan antlers and its not hard to hunt an amazing trophy?
Old 09-08-2017, 08:54 AM
Typical Buck

Yes, North American moose have larger antlers than European moose. The largest antlers being from the Alaska/Yukon variety, which are also the most expensive to hunt. As in other antlered game animals, mature animals have larger antlers.

All moose tags in the continental United States are obtained through drawings, and are very difficult to obtain. I have been applying every year since 1988 in my home state of Montana without drawing a moose tag.

There are many areas in Canada and Alaska with over the counter moose tags, but nonresident aliens are required to have guides, which given the large size of moose, is not a bad thing.
Old 09-10-2017, 05:02 AM
Fork Horn

Good for you in planning joining the hunting club.
You say too young to hunt....what the the age requirements there? Is there classes or sportsmans clubs you could join, perhaps to find a mentor?