Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
Maine black bear hunting help (first year) >

Maine black bear hunting help (first year)

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Maine black bear hunting help (first year)

Old 08-23-2013, 12:32 PM
Spike

Default Maine black bear hunting help (first year)

This is my first year hunting and baiting black bear. Ive hunted deer so its not totally new to me. My girlfriends dad , Jim, is a maine guide who is setting me up with bait and 50 gallon drums. He heard word and people complaining of a nuisance bear 300+ pounds in an area he wanted to get in the area but couldn't get to anyone to open up their land to him. I happen to mow a lawn for a lady on the opposite side of the main road that goes through there. So i got permission from the land owner and Jim helped me find an awesome site for my bait and stand..
Now my question is how to i get the bear to my bait, i know im the only one in a 15 mile radius baiting. I'm also near a peninsula. For bait i have donuts, nugget, and fluff. I also have french fries and hash browns from a factory up north, Jim is trying this out to see how it works (lots of grease). Word says the bear is about a mile maybe a tad more across the main road and lives in the woods. How to i get him across the road and towards my bait?? The area is covered in different types of berries everywhere. I spray a mixture of Anise and Vanilla to cover my tracks and round the area, gives off a very strong liquorish scent.There aren't many signs of bear at all but this land is the only place i can get my bait.. Deer cover this area i spook 3-4 every time i go check my bait, saw a 6 pointer a couple days ago also. If anyone can give me a few tips that'd be awesome.

Thank you!
Old 08-23-2013, 12:57 PM
Fork Horn

Welcome to the forum.