Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
MT elk fee going from $643 to over $900! >

MT elk fee going from $643 to over $900!

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

MT elk fee going from $643 to over $900!

Old 01-24-2011, 05:28 AM
Giant Nontypical

I think there is just a little bit of a misstatement in that last post. You don't need to buy a combo license to hunt deer only. If you don't want to hunt elk, just apply for the deer tag that is good in a lot of areas. If you get drawn then you can apply for one of the limited tags if that is your wish and you can then hunt it if you get drawn. The deer tag fee is now darn near double compared to the nonresident license fee in Wyoming where I have been hunting since 1994 though. I would imagine Wyoming will see an increase in nonresident applications for deer and elk when people see the rates that Montana has gone to. I would imagine that most of the outfitters will do okay with the new setup and the marginal ones may go under. It may require that they try to book more people than they can handle in a given year so they know they will have a full camp. The way to do that would probably be to tell everyone after they reach the limit of what they can handle is that they will fill a spot if they are drawn to fill a spot ahead of them if that person didn't draw the tag. That would possibly insure that the outfitter has a full camp for his hunts, but would be sort of a double jeopardy deal for the hunters in that they might not get a final booking even though they drew a license. It sort of comes down to the old saying that life isn't fair, but that is sort of the way all commerce works and that's basically what we are talking about. I always felt that the guaranteed tag system Montana had set up was wrong, just like I think the Wyoming law of not letting a nonresident hunt in a Wilderness area without a guide is wrong when it's