Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Interesing bear study

Old 06-30-2010, 09:37 AM
Fork Horn

Default Interesing bear study

The bears I am studying in Arkansas are actually descendants of bears that came from here in MInnesota, and it appears their yearly clock is still kind of tuned in to seasonal changes here in Minnesota, because my Arkansas bears are doing the saame things Dr. Lynn Rogers bears ( your know - HOPE) are doing in Ely, MN. And i know that because we are in contact at least once a week.

It is interesting to compare notes about bear behavior, in two widely separated States - because we learn that what happens at one latitude, may not happen at another latitude, just lke with whitetails.

Interesing Notes:
No one was sure how long a sow might stay in estrus, but they did know that a sow may breed with more than one male , because DNA studies show the cubs may have different fathers. I had one sow with the same boar for 10 days - long estrus period.
Many of us here in the Upper Midwest, thought that bears go nocturnal in the fall (not just as a result of hunting pressure but) as a result of their putting on a lot of fat, and growing long back fur - which makes for a pretty heavy winter coat in the summer and fall.

BUT - in Arkansas, I've got boars over 400 pounds, and bears of all ages, actively feeding at temperatures over 90 degrees - and there is no hunting pressure. on the 3000 acre preserve, but theris around it - so these bears are hunted. HIght temps so not bother black bears.

Right now they are active from about 8 AM to 5 PM, with peaks at around 10 AM and 4-5 PM - with basically no activity at night.
But, that pattern will change in late summer, because of their biological needs, which leads to different yearly phases.

The following is from my book Hunting Northern & Western Game of North America

Yearly Black Bear Activity Phases

Phase l; Winter