Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

elk hunting question

Old 05-13-2008, 12:27 PM

Default elk hunting question

i'm new to hunting out west, and will hopefully get the chance to do some elk hunting over the next few years. if i do, it will be self guided and i was wondering what you do with an elk once you kill one? back east, if you kill a 120lb whitetail you just gut it and drag it out, but if you take a 350lb elk, and say i was on public land which i couldnt drive i vehicle onto, whats the best way to get it out? is it better to just take part of it and not the whole thing?
Old 05-13-2008, 12:45 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: elk hunting question

all depends on the state/regulations. Also how far from the road that elk drops.....

I think the best thing to be prepared to do is to pack it out on your back, that means having a nice pack frame/backpack.

Rather than gutting the animal, I've seen a guy kinda lay the animal on its side and cut from the top of the back down.....cutting off al lthe meat etc...from the bone......seemed like the least amount of work, I have it on video, i'm sur eyou can find it online how to cut up an elk that way.

Some states though allow you to drive to your animal, though good luck with a truck, an atv is more likely, some states require an off road sticker/license for your vehicle if you are going to be doing that. Though more and more states are banning atv's, some still allow for the retreaval of game I believe, you should be prepared to cut up your elk and put it on your back and hike it out. Also some states you can be fined/charged with crimes if you do not retrieve meat, I believe thats teh case in CO. Im sure other states probably have similar laws as well. I think they require you to remove at least the hind quarters.....