Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Elk Hunts

Old 07-10-2007, 12:57 PM

Default Elk Hunts

I've been hunting for about 5 years now and i have always wanted to elk hunt. I was wondering if your guys could point me towards some good information sources as far as using a guide or DOY, which states to hunt, elk movement and behavior, and anything else there is. I will probably be using a compound bow and if there is any special stalking tactics. Thanks
Old 07-10-2007, 02:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Elk Hunts

It isn't recommended for most beginner DIY hunters to use a bow, if you want to harvest an elk, it's recommended to start with a rifle hunt.

Popular beginners places for elk are Colorado, and Wyoming, except Wyoming is draw tags, but if you apply a year or two in advance, you might draw.

I heard people recommend Jim Zumbo's book "Hunt Elk" for tips, so if you want some reference book, I guess that would be worth looking into.
Old 07-10-2007, 04:57 PM

I agree with younggun.
This will be my first year elk hunting, but have pretty much lived in Utah or Colorado my entire life and seen more than a few elk, etc.

People I know that have hunted all three states like all three. Northern Arizona and New Mexico can also be great places to hunt elk. I can't say how other states fair, but Utah seems to have a pretty decent success rate in terms of harvest numbers.
Old 07-11-2007, 10:22 PM

Unless you go to a state that has non-resident licenses like Colorado, your choises are few. Most elk licenses are done on a drawing basis. Here in Wyoming, non-residents apply in January.

Hunting with a bow is fine. Bow season in the Rockies is the absolute best time of the year. Fewer hunters, cooler temps, elk bugleing, aspen turning colors. . . nothing finer!

As far as tactics, it takes a lifetime to figure elk out. And still fool you. Old timers will tell you, "Elk are where you find them." (Smart asses.)