Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 Looking for a good Elk bugle >

Looking for a good Elk bugle

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Looking for a good Elk bugle

Old 06-25-2005, 10:10 PM

Default Looking for a good Elk bugle

I am new to elk hunting and am looking for a good bugle. I tried the diaphragms, but the gag reflex and vibrating head sensation kicked in too heavily. What do you guys (and girls - I try not to offend anyone these days) like for your favorite bugle?
Old 06-25-2005, 10:15 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Looking for a good Elk bugle

Primos terminator bugle.

This thing is awesome. Sounds very realistic, easy to use and the blue silicone reed never rots like latex.

http://www.primos.com/product_info.php?products_id=231
Old 06-25-2005, 10:46 PM
Fork Horn

that primos terminator is awesome, but if ya want something a little smaller they make a backpack model at primos. same blue reed, just a smaller tube.

both work very well.
Old 06-26-2005, 11:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

Frostycanuck, the primos terminator is good but diaphragms are better yet. One thing you might consider trying to help you overcome your gag reflex is this.Drill a small hole on the outside edge of the horseshoe part of the diaphragm, on either the left or right side as placed in your mouth. Then tie somedental floss tothe diaphragm useing that hole.Make it long enough to hold the other end of the floss in your hand. When calling if you start to gag you can simply pull the diaphragm out of your mouth. Plus I have heard that the dental floss comming out of the mouth takes away from the gag reflex. There are couple of sounds you can make from a bugle tube & reed like the Primos system, but if you can learn to use a diaphragm, wellthe sounds you can make are almost unlimited with both bull and cow calls. Hope this helps.
Old 06-27-2005, 12:01 AM
Nontypical Buck