HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Need a little help please... I am a new hunter
Old 08-29-2004, 09:37 PM
RustyOlRanger4x4
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Need a little help please... I am a new hunter

ORIGINAL: Air Force Ammo Troop

Hello I am a little new to hunting and would like to ask a few simple questions. I haven't hunted in about 11 years and I can't remember many things my father taught me because I was reall young. I remember deer tracks, rubs, ruts and most of the simple things... but cannot remember some important things, I will list them and any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. Human scent removal... I only remember him saying that you want to be clean and not use smelly shampoo's and soap's.

2. Stand placement... I can scout pretty well but I have no idea how close to place a stand... I have found a trail that the deer use to get to their feeding plot. I would like to hunt there but I have no idea how close is too close for my stand... it is a ladder stand if that helps.

3. Smoking and such while hunting... I smoke like a freight train and I can probably go about 2 hours without one at the most. Should I not smoke while hunting ??

Thanks alot... and any other tips would be great... I am hunting at Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana.
Welcome to the board its full of information and informative people.
#1. Scent removal go to a local hunting store or walmart theres a million things there to was I use a kit I bought at walmart its hunterspecialties I believe it is soap, shampoo, and detergent for you hunting clothes I think it was less then $20 but it works just fine but theres a ton of options and if you wanna drop some cash get a scent lok suit but there pretty expensive I just spray my regular old hunting clothes with Carbon blast which came from walmart to and it works just fine you just spray it on all your clothes.