HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Quik Spin test.....completed!
View Single Post
Old 07-25-2004, 08:57 PM
CG

Default Quik Spin test.....completed!

Well I finally bit the bullet and bought some of these....well being a science teacher, I had to have proof they were better than what I was using (AAE).

Well here is how the experiment was conducted. I fletched 5 arrows w/ Quik Spins and 5 arrows w/ AAE Plastifletch vanes. Both sets were fletched 1/8" (approx. ) right offset. Basically both arrows were identical (except for weight, the AAE were a few grains lighter). The bow set-up is a Mathews MQ1, 29" draw, 71 lbs w/ NAP 2000 dropaway and Scott Mongoose release. The arrows were GoldTip XT 5575 27 1/2" tipped with Magnus Snuffers 125 gr.. Arrow speed is approx. 270 fps.

Over the course of 2 days, I shot each set 20 times for a total of 100 shots w/ each vane type. All shooting was done inside at 25 yards and I alternated which set was shot first as well as alternating each arrow during some of the sessions. I then measured the distance from center (target center) for each arrow. One variable I was concerned about (besides the shooter but I don't have a Hooter Shooter in the basement ) was the Snuffers. I glued them together myself and all spun true. I selected these because IME they are the hardest to tune due to the large cutting diameter (1 5/16"). To make sure that one group didn't get a "non-straight" Snuffer for the whole test, all BH were randomly changed after each shooting session (10 shots). I also left in all "flyers" figuring that over 100 arrows for each vane that it would work itself out.

So basically, as best I could manage, there was only one control variable....the vanes. All others were (relatively) constant. Here are my results (rounded to the nearest tenth per my digital caliper):

AAE: Closest to Center=.9"
Farthest from Center=4.6"
Average=3.3"

QuikSpin: Closest to Center= .25"
Farthest from Center=5.3"
Average=2.2"