HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Anybody else hunting with ARs?
View Single Post
Old 01-02-2020, 09:00 AM
kacey
Spike

Default Anybody else hunting with ARs?

Anybody else here hunt with their ARs?
I started hunting with one about 12 years ago when I went out looking for a coyote. At the time it was a heavy 24" barrel flattop upper on a Bushmaster lower in .5.56/223 that I had used for target shooting few times. With the 1/9" twist barrel it shot Winchester 55gr silver point very accurately out to 300 yards. I never did get that coyote but I started shooting this AR at the range more frequently. Few years later I took it up on a tree stand during doe season and dropped a nice doe using Winchester 64gr Power point ammo from about 200 yards. It was a neck shot and the doe dropped immediately. More recently I built up a 16" AR carbine using ultralight/pencil barrel and FF handguard topped with 2-7x32mm Nikon scope. At loaded weight of just under 7 lb. it is light and compact enough to carry easily. Using Federal Fusion MSR 62 gr ammo it will get 1 3/4" group (5 shots) at 100 yards regularly and occasional 3" from 200 yards. In past 5 years this rifle/ammo combo has bagged 7 deer and 22 or 23 hogs up to 275 lb. and none required 2nd shot. Most shots were within 75 yards with 2 greater than 150 yards...longest was a shot on hog from 170 yards. Last year my youngest son assembled a AR carbine in 300 BLK set up similar to my AR carbine and using 110gr TSX ammo has taken 3 deer and 8 hogs and only one large barr hog took 2 shots to drop. I'm in the process of assembling another AR for hunting and it will be heavier 20" barrel rifle for use from tree stands where I can have longer shots. Sometime in future I plan on a AR pistol with about 10" barrel for stalking hogs in the hammocks but I'm not sure I'll go with 5.56/.223 as 300 BLK seem to be more effective in shot barrels.