HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Private and public land options (hog) california
Old 10-05-2018, 09:46 AM
entropy4money
Spike

Default Private and public land options (hog) california

Hi,

So first of all I've been hunting for only 3 years whitetail deer and turkey in VT. I recently moved to California and so far it is all been pretty disappointing, but this is what I have. Please don't tell me to move out, I know being a hunter in California is almost a criminal offense, especially near Los Angeles, but this is where I live now. I can't, my wife got her dream job here and I love her, she is happy and that makes me happy.

A little background. I love public land hunting. I love being on my own, camping, hiking for hours and hunting wild animals. It was only my last year in Vermont I almost tagged a buck. I scouted a 12 pointer in a remote area in the green mountains and made a plan to tag him, he did not come near my morning stand, but plan B was to try tracking him on fresh snow. I tracked that buck all day long across the green mountain national forest, miles and miles of hiking in 15 degree weather. Just when I got a sight of him, it was indeed the 12 pointer I scouted, right when I pull up my rifle he smelled me and spooked and that was it, it was too late to keep chasing him. That is the kind of hunt I like. To track a 12 pointer big woods deer in public land in Vermont is a great achievement for me. Out of the 10 years living on Vermont I never saw anything bigger than a spike while in the woods, a 12 pointer is a beast. I used to go out hunting several times a year, during archery I was out about 15 times total, without counting the dozens of scouting trips in summer. I didn't see that deer ever again for the rest of the season.