HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - My First Dove Season ( Story )
View Single Post
Old 09-14-2013, 07:32 PM
DeadPhoenix
Spike

Default My First Dove Season ( Story )

Just wanted to share my experiences for my very first year of hunting. I shot my first dove today!

Last year my dad gave me a gun that's been in the family for years. It's a bolt-action 12-gauge from the 1950's with a screw-on choke modifier. I've been shooting with it for awhile now but it's always been at targets or bottles. Both slugs and birdshot. Only just recently have I started shooting clay targets and I can say they helped improve my aim significantly.

When dove season started, I missed the opening day and didn't get to visit the public dove field for the first few days. There were multiple hundreds of doves shot there the first two days of season. Went on the 5th and was there before sunup and it was a barren wasteland over the sunflowers, lol. I saw 4 doves in about 5 hours and only got to shoot once. Now I know why no one else was there. They were flying like they were leaving the atmosphere and I just ended up wasting a shell.

Tried two places of private land and neither provided anything at all. Think I saw 1 dove in 3 days. I started glaring at them when I see them lined up on the power lines as soon as I get back into town. Haha.

Well today I went to my boyfriend's parents farm. There's a rarely-used gravel road with power lines, corn fields and trees around their yard and their machine shed. We walked the gravel road one morning and saw some doves but they booked it well out of our range.

Today we walked the road again and noticed the doves are in the same two spots again ( next time we will set up at one of these areas for sure. )