HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Need HELP Selecting a Bolt-Action Rifle
View Single Post
Old 06-04-2012, 03:52 PM
JBuck1911
Spike

Smile

Originally Posted by homers brother
RR beat me to it. I shoot a 20" barrel and while I have considered swapping barrels to a 22" or 24", the only reason would be to squeeze that extra 150-or-so feet per second of velocity out of it. However, because most of my shooting is at 800 yards or under with an occasional poke out to 1000 yards, because the bullet is still supersonic out to 1300 yards with the moderate reloads I use, and because I'm still connecting with the targets, I'm in no rush and I don't see the short barrel length as a liability.

That stock IS an issue. I bought my SPS knowing full well that my intent would be one day to replace it, and I replaced it very quickly. Then again, I've been shooting rifles for coming up on 40 years and I think I've about got my shooting fundamentals ironed out. That stock will work to get you started. It's probably not going to shoot groups of less than 1" at 100 yards, but I've seen noobs show up at the range not able to do better than 3" starting out with much better setups. I say shoot that thing until you're down to 1-1/2" or 1" groups, THEN consider upgrading the stock.

My 700 SPS wears an Accuracy International Chassis. The AI includes DBM, which most McMillans do not - though not everyone NEEDS a box magazine. Although the Savage 110 series has a solid reputation, there aren't many options out there for them. AI doesn't make a chassis for the Savage 110, nor do many other manufacturers, save McMillan. Savage shooters I know continually complain about that. They're hot and cold about the "accutrigger" - some see it as very useful, others see it as adding complexity where you shouldn't need it. Ultimately, you're spending an awful lot of money in the case of the rifle you linked for a stock that you may not like.