HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - H&R & nef handi rifle youth 243?
View Single Post
Old 03-01-2011, 08:12 AM
hometheaterman
Nontypical Buck

I do not own one of these, but a friend got a used NEF Handi Rifle .243 one for his daughter, and I've had lots of experience shooting it, and it's been nothing but a headache. To start off, his daughter didn't want it in the first place and she doesn't like it at all either. He wanted to get her something like this since she was left handed. He figured that a single shot was the best option since he couldn't find a decently priced left handed bolt action. She said she'd rather just have a right handed bolt action.

All that aside, he got it and noticed that when you shot it it was kicking open and kicking the shell out towards your face. After checking it out some and looking online, there are reports of them doing this if you don't keep it completely dry of oil. Some reports still have it happen if it's dry, but it seems to happen a lot less. Once he cleaned it good, and then dried it off and kept it free from oil it didn't do this again, or so far hasn't. It's not been shot all that much.

He thought all was well until they ran a few rounds through it and a shell stuck in the barrel. He took it to a gunsmith to have it checked out this time. The gunsmith said the chamber wasn't cut deep enough from the factory and it was out of spec. So he cut the chamber deeper. He thought it was fixed, but we took it shooting a few weeks ago and on the first round it stuck again. We had to take a cleaning rod to knock it out. It did fire the next 20 or so fine, but it obviously still isn't fixed.