HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Let your child skip school to hunt?
View Single Post
Old 12-15-2010, 09:54 AM
7.62NATO
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by bigcountry
So are you saying without this skipped days, its impossible to teach a child these life skills? That makes no sense whatsoever. I mean I taught myself.

Can't a child bowhunt? I mean I do 95% or more of my hunting with a bow. Most of East US, gun hunting is nothing more than shooting pressured deer. Sit in a tree, something will run to you. Not sure what life lessons one would learn. In fact, every year I consider skipping the orange army week.

Facts are facts, concerning education, college and employability and how much more a college graduate makes.

I just know from my experience, I had and have friends who I graduated from HS with who lived, breathed and died hunting, and refused the disciplines of sometimes, hunting has to wait. Same folks, well over 20 years later, work like mules and only get one week vacation a year and tell me how lucky I am getting 5 weeks a year and able to hunt so much. Again, not saying its rule, but its rather interesting.
I am not saying you HAVE to skip school in order to learn these skills. You taught yourself, good for you. Me too, and still learning. I'd rather have been taught by my father. And I'm saying that it's the DAD's prerogative to take his kid out of school to hunt if he wants. I do NOT surrender the right, will and future of my children to the state. In Virginia, you cannot hunt on Sundays...could be like that in other states. Maybe this guy doesn't have a place nearby to hunt. Maybe the dad wants to take his kid hunting somewhere where travel time is significant and it would eat up a lot of the hunting day. Who knows? Again, my point is that it's up to the dad.