HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - How to hunt three or more doe moving in a tight area (bow)
Old 11-18-2010, 06:37 PM
Nocturnal
Spike

Default How to hunt three or more doe moving in a tight area (bow)

Hello all.. I have been lurking for a long time but this is my first post here. I am new to bowhunting this being my first year. I had a question about attempting to take a doe when they are in tight groups traveling together. Any feedback is appreciated. This has been a great experience (the bow season ends tomorrow in NY) but I certainly need to learn more going into next year.

A scenario I ran into several times this year including this evening is as follows. I hunt from a stand overlooking a high traffic deer trail surrounded by very thick brush and a young forest. About a half hour before sun set 3 or more doe come out of the thickets into a small clearing my stand overlooks (directly ahead). This clearing is 70 yards from my stand and it takes some time for the deer to reach my range. I have shooting lanes picked out at 40, 35, and 33 yards. At the 33 yard point they turn up the trail and away from me.

My problem is I have a hard time drawing on them without being spotted and sending them off running. The first time this happened I waited until the doe I wanted was in range, all appeared to have there heads down feeding, and simply drew the bow back. They busted me and ran off. Today four came out. I decided this time to wait for the first three to go past and target the 4th. She was the largest and I assumed 2 eyes vs. me was better then 8. The three smaller does passed. The bigger and final doe hit my 33 yard mark and put her head down to graze so I smoothly drew my bow. Halfway through the draw they all ran. Not a panicked run either. Just ran off and turned into a wide open field that I don't have a shot into from the stand.