HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - best safety harness?
View Single Post
Old 11-17-2010, 11:59 AM
houser52
Spike

I'm also new to the subject of safety vests/ harnesses even though I've hunted from a treestand for 25+ years.

I did lots of reading on the subject and everyone's harness/vest is the best one you can buy. I tried to search different forums to see which had the best reviews and there again it was always personal preference to which was the best.

I ordered a popular harness and it was uncomfortable because the legs straps grabbed the back of my legs no matter how I adjusted them. I would bend over and when I stood up the straps stayed low on my thighs which caused the shoulder straps to get tight. I felt like I was wearing a straight jacket so I sent it back.

Now I have ordered another brand name harness but I can't comment on it until I get it and try it on, however I did try on one one of their other vest models at Dick's Sporting Goods and it felt pretty good.

On the subject of suspension trauma I think I have that figured out too. My plan is, after the first trip up the stand I'll attach a "lifeline"
with a prussic knot to the tree and be clipped to it while in the stand. Under the prussic I'm going to attach another prusic loop that I can use to help me either climb up or down the "lifeline" in case I should fall and can't get back into the stand.

That method is used by tree climbers and rock climbers so it's a proven method. I'll just have to practice to see if it works for me.

Good luck with your quest on finding a harness.

11-20-10 Update-

I received my new Hunter Safety System Ultra Lite harness yesterday. Everything is included and ready to use.
Watched the DVD and read the instructions, everything pretty straight forward. Took only a couple minutes to get it adjusted to fit.