HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Bucks'n does
Thread: Bucks'n does
View Single Post
Old 11-10-2010, 09:18 AM
Schobs
Typical Buck

Let me try and shed some light on this subject. I'm by no means an expert, but I think I have a pretty good idea about how all of this works.

When a doe goes into estrus, that is the time she is actually allowing a buck to physically breed with her, she will only be in estrus for about 24-48 hours. In that time, she will often let multiple bucks breed her.

During the peak of the rut, an increase in testosterone in bucks will cause an increase in the size of his testes. In the couple of months coinciding with and following the peak rut, a buck will breed with as many does as possible. Bucks often run themselves ragged following does and fighting other bucks for dominance and many bucks lose a considerably amount of their body weight through the month surrounding the rut, and sometimes can't get their fat reserves up before the winter and die due to malnutrition.

If a doe isn't bred during her first estrus cycle, which is uncommon but not unheard of, she will go into estrus about 28 days later. This often leads to what many people consider the "second rut." A month following the first real peak of the rut many yearling does will also come into estrus for the first time. Does not bred during this estrus cycle will have another estrus cycle 28 days later. Once a doe is successfully bred, she'll stop creating the estrus scents that put the bucks in her area into a breeding frenzy. In areas with a buck:doe ratio that is out of whack (too many does, not enough bucks) does sometimes go into 2, 3, or 4 estrus cycles before being bred, leading to late-born fawns.