HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Shot the gun today.
View Single Post
Old 03-10-2010, 04:41 AM
SwampCollie
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by kentuckybucks
This may be a dumb question but how do i polish my barrel? Is it the same as cleaning? I've never done that before but have heard of alot of people on here doing it and saying it helped. Thanks in advance.

I'll bore you (pun intended) with a little bit of the 'why' behind this concept first:

When your shotgun barrel was made, they took a steel cylendar and ran a boring tool down the middle to ream out a 12 gauge hole (readers digest version). They did a bit of touching up and what not, but if you look down the thing, you can still plainly (especially on your 870) see the original tooling marks from where the metal was cut away. These small pits and lands attract and hole fouling, plastic residue from the wad and all sorts of unsavory stuff. It is a real witch to remove it and takes a lot of elbow grease. Most folks never (and I mean never) clean their guns good enough to know it exists, it takes a real scrubbing to even loosen the stuff up enough to be seen. The bore snake might do a good enough job to pass inspection, but trust me... its NOT really clean!

The only way to prevent this, is to eliminate those tooling marks. Enter: Bore Polishing.

There are a couple of ways you can go about this... some are cheap and effective, others are more scientific and costly.

1) (First Class) - You can bring your gun to a gunsmith, ask him to polish your barrel and lengthen your forcing cone and hand over some legal tender in exchange for his services.