HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - advice for a novice hunter
View Single Post
Old 01-04-2010, 12:14 PM
Daveboone
Fork Horn

There really isnt a school for hunting, it is usually handed down experienc, and self taught. I would recommend taking a NY state hunter safety course. There are two, one for gun and one for bow. They are a wealth of information, are free, and will also potentially put you in contact with other hunters. The gun hunter safety is essential to get a hunting license in NY, the bow is neccessary for bow hunting BUT it has much more practical hunting information in it, including usually animal vital areas, blood trailing, and tree stand use. If you havent had much experience with firearms, I would also recommend a handgun safety course. The basic firearm handling practices are applicable to long arms, and safety can never be over emphasized, and you can never get too much firearm exposure. You can call around to local sporting goods shops (Gander Mtn, Dicks, local private gun shops) for classes being held.
I regularly hunt public land. NYS has millions of acres of it, and not all of it sees use at all. You do need a NYS hunting license. I do not know your situation for firearm possesion, so you need to clarify that. A call to the NYS Department of Environmental Conservation may answer that, or the NYS Police. Both groups are good people.