HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Whitetail Hunting with GPS
View Single Post
Old 09-13-2009, 04:35 PM
bmumford
Spike

Default Whitetail Hunting with GPS

I would have posted this in the "Hi-Tech Hunting" forum, but GPS doesn't fit into either of the categories (Trail Cameras, Optics, or Video & Photography).

Anyway, I've been planning on buying a GPS for hunting for a while. I'm a pretty tech-savvy guy, so I really want to switch to GPS (and eliminate paper). I've been using a top-of-the-line Garmin GPS unit in my car for the last year that I am quite satisfied with, but I need something portable for planning my hunting trips.

I've narrowed my search down to two models: the Garmin Oregon 550T and the DeLorme Earthmate PN-40. I thought I had the debate settled by saving a couple of hundred dollars by forgoing the digital camera (that I love) in exchange for the ability to display both topos (topographical maps) and aerial photos on the PN-40. Apparently, it's only $30 a year for unlimited maps (which is DeLorme's forte).

However, I just saw an advertisement for Expert GPS (http://www.expertgps.com/gps-receivers/Garmin-Oregon-550t.asp) which is now supporting the Oregon 550T with aerials for $50 a year. It's not nearly as cheap, but they ARCGIS (which isn't important to me, but ARC software is high-end GIS software, so it makes me wonder).

To make matters harder, the Oregon stores 2,000 waypoints (I don't know if I need that much, maybe I do); the PN-40 stores only 1,000 (which may be enough). Yet, the Oregon only has 850 MB of memory while the PN-40 has 1GB. Both take external cards, so maybe that doesn't matter.

Both have a digital compass that you do not need to be moving to work out your direction (which could compromise your position when hunting); so that's good.