HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Missouri MDC continues to push against hunters!
Old 11-04-2008, 09:51 AM
whitetailaddiction
Spike

Default RE: Missouri MDC continues to push against hunters!

It's very hard if not downright impossible to single handedly fight for the rights of nonresident hunters who are the victims of beaurocrats, adminins and politicians who are hungry for power and funding.
As an Illinois resident I take no pleasure in seeing nonresidents getting overcharged by the Illinois DNR. (Dept. of Natural Resources)
This creates opportunity for other state agencies to fan the flames of hunters who are upset about the mistreatment they received and want to retaliate.
There is also an element of apathy and complete dislike for nonresident hunters by home staters.
These things work out collectively to our own destruction.
The outcome is I too get penalized for something I have neither done nor agree with.

How do we reverse this trend?

We need to organize, unify and transcend state lines in an effort to be come advocates for one another.

The following are transcripts of communication between me and MO DOC back in 2001:

Oct 11 2001
Dear nonresident deer hunter:
Our records show that you bought a Missourri nonresident deer hunting permit for the 2000
Missouri firearms deer hunting season. We hope had an enjoyable and successful hunt.

The Missouri Conservation Commission has been concerned in recent years with steadily increasing

nonresident deer hunting prices
in states adjacent to Missouri, and has received numerous
complaints from Missouri residents about the cost to hunt deer in other states. Missouri's prices for
nonresident deer hunting have during this time remained relatively low in comparison.

The Conservation Commission is considering adopting a "reciprocal pricing policy" for deer hunting that

would allow Missouri to charge the same permit fee to a nonresident that his or her home state would