HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Powder Pellets
View Single Post
Old 10-14-2008, 08:18 AM
cayugad
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Powder Pellets

ORIGINAL: Hoosier_Hunter1963

Guys,

I am a relative newbie to ML hunting. I have only used Pyrodex Pellets so far.

What's the differences between different types/brands of pellets? Cleaner? Hotter?

So far....2 Pyro 50gr. pellets with a SW 250gr sabot seems to work AWESOME!
First off.. if you are getting AWESOME results with two Pyrodex 50 grain pellets and shockwaves.. STICK WITH THAT LOAD. That is an excellent hunting load. Or if you want to play with other powders, remember that load for your rifle and the results.

Triple Se7en pellets are about equal in strength to the Pyrodex Pellets, but I found for some reason they do not shoot to the exact same POI. They have the same energy, and should shoot the same but they do not always do that.

Triple Se7en is cleaner then Pyrodex RS. You can clean it with simply water. It might form a harder crud ring in the barrel of your rifle between shots, but that is not true in all rifles, in all areas of the country. You still have to clean your rifle at the end of the day, and clean up is about the same. You still have to swab between shots. And Triple Se7en pellets IN MY AREA are a little more expensive then the Pyrodex RS pellets.

Triple Se7en MAGNUM pellets are a little more powerful. They are trying to replicate the larger magnum loads without going to a 150 grain charge like in three pellets. Think of them as a 60 grain pellet. All they did is truly increase the weight of the amount of powder. In the Triple Se7en pellet (standard) they reduced the weight of the pellet to equal the power of the Pyrodex. In the magnum they just let them be the same weight.