HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - SHOULD THE HUNTER TIP A GUIDE?
View Single Post
Old 09-25-2005, 09:35 PM
skeeter 7MM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: SHOULD THE HUNTER TIP A GUIDE?

a waiter after a four course meal ( well deserved )
DD, but all the waiter did was carry the plates form the kitchen to your table...so how is this really different then a whitetail guide taking you to a blind?

I worked as a Big game guide in Saskatchewan for Black Bear, Whitetails and Moose. All but the moose I did the same thing determined based on wind and activity where to take my hunters each morning. In my case I humped it much more during bear and whitetail season then I ever did when I was with my hunter the entire day/week during moose. Like you eluded to in Saskatchewan guides are also responsible for baits, so their is a lot of running and gunning in each day. However it doesn't matter where you guide or what, when you have hunters and more coming you can't afford to head back to base camp and sip coffee, if you take any pride in your work/service. Guiding is much more than 7 days withyou thehunter - a lot of time is spent in preparing, scoutingand having to change horses on the fly. Think of it as your own hunting in your home state, you don't just wake up one morning and say hey it's deer season I better go get me a buck!The guide is the heartbeat of the outfitter, some outfitters have time to scout and be active in the day to day hunting portion but far more have other things to tend too. They relay on the guides to make each trip enjoyable and ulitmately keep filling their slots each fall. Being I was on the opposite side of it, I know that every tip I received was due to my efforts and yes I expectedthem as well b/c I busted my nackers for each hunter I guided. It didn't matter if they had deep pockets or not, they all deserved the same effort and opportunity while under my care. 95% of the guys knew the guide was as essential as the outfitter and willing to show