Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

New Food Plot Ideas

Old 11-16-2015, 07:40 AM
Spike

Default New Food Plot Ideas

In the past year we've done a ton of dozer work on our 800 ac North MO farm which has taken out some deer habitat which I believe has poorly influenced deer numbers on the property. To add to that we have also seen signs of disease such as blue tongue and CWD. We still are seeing a decent amount of deer but not near as much as we used to. I am interested in putting a food plot in a little 2 acre plot that sits on some creek bottom land tucked back behind some timber. Within the next week I am going to pull soil samples and get the info back on that before next spring. As i am new to planting a food plot, I am curious as to what has worked best for everyone. My goals for this plot are to
1) establish an attractant for more deer to come into the area
2) create a nutritious plot for quality herd growth as well as antler growth
3) create a plot I can hunt over during Oct-Nov.
Your input is appreciated
Old 11-17-2015, 05:00 AM
Boone & Crockett

Plant winter (grain) rye:

http://www.growbrutebucks.com/info.php?id=46
Old 11-23-2015, 11:12 AM
Spike

How much acreage out of the 800 acres is in ag production and what is being planted? timber? thick bedding cover?
Layout of the land, pinch points, natural funnels play a key figure in determining food plot location as well. But for a quick answer I would say 1 acre of perennials (clovers and chicory) 1 acre of a fall mix ( brassicas, winter rye grain, winter hardy oats, winter wheat). These would pretty much cover you year round and have different times of attraction.
Old 11-26-2015, 07:23 AM
Nontypical Buck

Good move to get the soil test up-front. I'd suggest that you research the Mo. state's ag college's web site. Probably a lot of area specific information. related to food plots for wild game.