Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Scent Control Question

Old 09-11-2016, 06:35 PM
Spike

Default Scent Control Question

OK, So I am new to hunting (starting my third year) Last year I hunted over a field where shots ranged from 25 yards to 125 yards.

This year I have a new area to hunt that is in a swamp. The brush is very heavy and I am thinking that I will need the deer to come within 30-40 yards to see them.

So what is the best way to kill my scent so that they won't smell me before I see them?

I washed all my hunting clothes in the scent control laundry soap from Walmart and them sealed them in vacuum bags.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 09-11-2016, 07:14 PM
Giant Nontypical

Try to be upwind of the animals you're hunting.

If they even suspect something is wrong, they will circle downwind before they "come in" !!!

Last edited by Sheridan; 09-13-2016 at 12:51 PM.
Old 09-12-2016, 12:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

There is unfortunately only one way to beat the nose of a whitetail and that is having the wind blow your sent somewhere else. If you want to consistently encounter mature whitetail you have to learn how to make the wind in your favor but also allow the deer think the wind is in their favor.

Everybody will tell you hunt the wind but mature deer don't make a habit of just walking around in the daylight with the wind at their back so you have to be creative.

Last edited by rockport; 09-12-2016 at 12:49 AM.
Old 09-12-2016, 06:25 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by rockport
There is unfortunately only one way to beat the nose of a whitetail and that is having the wind blow your sent somewhere else. If you want to consistently encounter mature whitetail you have to learn how to make the wind in your favor but also allow the deer think the wind is in their favor.