Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need advise

Old 10-16-2017, 08:21 PM
Spike

Default Need advise

Ok guys.... I'm pretty new to bow hunting (3years). I purchased a used hoyt Powerhawk and started practicing and learned my anchor points and became very confident over the next year. I decided to get in the woods with it and managed to lay down a couple of brown meat donators. I then started having issues with my peep always under rotating. I took it to my local archery shop and they replaced and reset the peep. It worked great for about 50-75 draws.... then the same issue returned. I also recently purchased an old Martin phantom ii.... same issue. Let me note I shoot LH. I don't think that's the culprit. Any advise is greatly appreciated.
Old 10-16-2017, 08:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

If you have a d-loop its probably twisting on you and no longer lining up with your peep. If that is the case you need to line it up and tighten it.
Old 10-19-2017, 06:34 AM
Spike

I have taken it to my local archery shop and the answer I got was "that's normal". How hard is it to do yourself. My archery shop options are limited.
Old 10-20-2017, 08:23 AM
Fork Horn

This may not be correct for the archery gurus. But, couldn't you align the d-loop so the peep is good and then glue the d-loop with say gorilla glue or similar? I sure wouldn't want to be twisting the string when you are about to shoot.
Old 10-20-2017, 09:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by redmag
This may not be correct for the archery gurus. But, couldn't you align the d-loop so the peep is good and then glue the d-loop with say gorilla glue or similar? I sure wouldn't want to be twisting the string when you are about to shoot.