Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Lube and cleaner recipes >

Lube and cleaner recipes

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Lube and cleaner recipes

Old 02-18-2007, 06:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Lube and cleaner recipes

Howdy fellers,
I've read numerous posts on this forum discussing the merits and downfalls of various lubes and cleaning solutions.
I'm still new to the joys of muzzleloading and am eager to try variations of the tried and true storebought stuff.

So here's the thing, everyone that has a special recipe that works well for you, let's hear it.
Be concise and give the complete recipes and maybe, just maybe, we can get a compilation of these that work for you pinned to the top or something for others to enjoy and benefit from.
It really sucks trying to wade through all the past stuff trying to find Cayugad's recipe for moosemilk for example( which by the way I still can't find [:@]).
Don't worry that someone has posted something similar, maybe your's has an ingrediant or cooking step that others don't. So, lets hear them, from the complicated to the simplest recipes.
I eagerly await your input.

Old 02-18-2007, 09:04 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Lube and cleaner recipes

Liquid Moosemilk[/b]
[ul][*]
3 ounces NAPA auto parts #765-1526 Soluble Cutting and Grinding Oil[/b][/align][*]
2 ounces Murphy's Oil soap[/b][/align][*]
1 ounce Witch Hazel[/b][/align][*]
8 ounces of 91% Isopropyl Alcohol[/b][/align][*]
16 ounces water[/b][/align][/ul]
this liquid patch lube is an excellent lube for patched roundball. I like to soak the strip of cloth and dry it on window screen. If you like more oil in your mix, simply increase the amount of cutting oil. Some like a lot of oil while others like very little. This is the mix I use.[/b]

[hr]
[/b]
[/b]