Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Groups > Young Hunters
New Hunter - need advice >

New Hunter - need advice

Community
Young Hunters Specifically for the kids, this is a great place to share experiences and meet other young hunters.

New Hunter - need advice

Old 08-07-2019, 11:41 AM
Spike

Question New Hunter - need advice

So i am actually 26 years old but i figured this would be a good start because i literally have zero hunting experience. I want to start hunting alone since every time I ask someone else to take me, the schedule doesn't line up or something comes up on their end. so since i am completely new to hunting. where do i start? is there a guide i can read that will tell me everything i need to know from start to finish? I am very savy with guns and what ammo and optics I should be using but finding, skinning, stalking, skinning, and butchering an Elk, or anything for that matter, i have no clue where to start. thanks in advance for any help.
Old 08-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Nontypical Buck

first off welcome to the site
Next yes 100% there are tons of books and video's on how to hunt about anything that can legally be hunted.
the main things to maybe start with are WHERE and what do you want to hunt?
then read up on some FACTS about these animals and learn there habits, things they eat, places they like to live!
THEN or while doing this, YOU need to find out what rules apply to where your living or plan to hunt
YOU will most likely need to take a hunter safety course before you can legally BUY a hunting license!
when your in MOST Hunter safety classes, there will normally be good instructors that can also help you LEARN how to hunt, HOW to find mentors or fellows willing to take on a new guy and teach them things
I do KNOW for a fact a LOT of older hunters are more willing at time 's than others,( IMO) all the more so, if your willing to hunt with them and HELP them haul a critter out of the woods
Tagging along and learning as you's go