Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Wildlife Management / Food Plots
 35 acres, what to plant for turkey and deer? >

35 acres, what to plant for turkey and deer?

Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

35 acres, what to plant for turkey and deer?

Old 01-18-2005, 07:55 PM
Fork Horn

Default 35 acres, what to plant for turkey and deer?

ok, here's the scoop.. i have been semi-guiding in vt for turkey for the last 3 years, my problem is having to search for places to go each year. this weekend, i saw a guy i know,talked hunting, remarked how i wish i had a place to plant for birds, but it would be something for deer, too. he and his friend have been thinking of improving his friends property( next to his) in hopes of drawing in deer. intense pressure at his place, plus the local christmas tree farmer has decimated the herd when they start eating his trees. anyway, john gives me his friends number, says call, which i did. told the guy i was willing to plant/improve some plots on his 35 acres, in return for exclusive hunting rights for turkeys( not too many in that area, but some) and a bow hunt or so for myself, with the understanding that no matter what i did, nothing could be ready for spring birds this year, he gets to shoot a deer hopefully there this year. ok, property description : rectangler shape, camp almost in the middle. has been logged about ten years ago, not touched sinces, so mid size whips coming up, about 10 foot tall. thick whips. slightly sloping w/good drainage. at far end on neighbors land are beeches and apple trees. small seasonal seep on that end as well. bear and moose in the area, as well as deer. my thoughts are to make a clearing, (keep in mind this is being done by hand, i have no equipment or money, lol), on this end, and perhaps one on the other end, but i don't know what size, 100 by 10, 50 by 50, 10 by 10,