HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Wildlife Management / Food Plots (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots-11/)
-   -   When To Plant????? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots/418691-when-plant.html)

ManofTheFall 08-01-2018 04:54 AM

When To Plant?????

I have 3 small areas cleared for plots this year. I just need to put some lime down then plant the seed. My question is after I put the lime down do I need to give the soil some time to soak up the lime or can i plant right away. This is my first year doing this so I'm trying to do it as right as possible.

Ballistictip 08-01-2018 05:13 AM

Get the lime down as soon as possible. It can take 6 months or more to work it's way down into the root zone and raise the pH of the soil. If you are able to till or disc the area after you spread the lime that will speed up the process.

Did you have a soil test done?

What are you planning on planting?

Coastal Mountaineer 08-01-2018 06:08 AM

If you have a way to till or disc the plots, this should be done before you apply lime. It allows the lime to get deeper into soil and be better utilized more quickly.

If you can't disc, try a chain drag or something similar, anything to break up the soil a little.

mrbb 08-01-2018 07:37 AM

you can for sure plant and add lime at the same time, BUT that lime will NOT be doing its job till it has time to alter PH, and for lime to work , each particle of lime must contact a particle of dirt,
once that happens the lime will actually alter that particle of dirts Ph
its why its often best to add lime , MIX it by discing in lightly, and then WAITING a few months for lime to work , or liming in winter time , so it can leak its way into soil before spring time plantings!